All Commonwealth University faculty, staff, and students will have access to our new Commonwealth University Zoom site the week of May 15, 2023.


TABLE OF CONTENTS


What's the Plan?

Users who have not logged in since May 2022 will be purged by March 31, 2023. See the Q&A below for information related to this.


Although accounts will take meetings and recordings with them, we highly encourage users to download recordings they want to maintain and store them in an appropriate storage location. This should be done prior to May 10, 2023. 


We will be purging the current Zoom Cloud for content through Winter 2022 on May 11, 2023. This will include recordings made through January 20, 2023. If you have questions about Zoom purge, please see What should I do to prepare for a Zoom Cloud Storage Purge?


IMPORTANT: LHU STUDENTS WITH RECORDINGS SEE ARTICLE ABOVE- Undergraduate students will lose licensed status in the Commonwealth University Zoom site, so you will need to download ALL recordings you want to keep. You will no longer have Zoom Cloud storage. Graduate students and licensed students will maintain recordings after January 20, 2023 like other licensed users.


New Things to Note

Zoom Integration with Brightspace (Zoom in D2L)

We will be implementing the latest and greatest Zoom Pro Dashboard in the new Commonwealth University Brightspace. This will include new functionality like grade sync for attendance.


User Groups for Business

We will be implementing user groups in the new site which will allow external facing areas to schedule meetings without requiring Sign in to Zoom authentication (which will still be required for academic sessions).


Licensing Differences for Students

We will be licensing graduate students only- any undergraduate students needing licensed access for class or work must be requested by faculty or supervisor. If a student is licensed in the current site that will carry over. This is just a note for any who will see changes, and for any who will need new licensing in future. You can request student licensing at zoomadmin@commonwealthu.edu 


90 Day Zoom Purge Schedule

In the new Commonwealth University Zoom site, Zoom Cloud recordings will be purged every 90 days. End users are responsible for downloading any recordings they wish to keep to another storage location. There is information on storage options in the linked article above. Please note this will affect ALL USERS, even users using the Zoom Pro Dashboard in D2L. The dashboard does not change the purge schedule in any way.


Important Timeline for Zoom:

  • March 31, 2023: Users who haven't accessed Zoom since May 2022 will be purged from all three sites by this date. 
  • May 10, 2023: Users should download recordings by this date.
  • May 11, 2023: Admin will purge all Zoom Cloud recordings through January 20, 2023
  • May 15, 2023: Zoom may be down for each school intermittently as we work with Zoom to migrate accounts into our new Commonwealth University Zoom site


Once the new site is up you will receive a message with the new Zoom portal URL. If you have any issues at this point, please reach out to zoomadmin@commonwealthu.edu 


Questions and Answers

Q: Who will have licensed (pro) accounts with unlimited recording storage and meeting time?

A: Faculty, staff, and grad students, and others by request, will have licensed accounts. Students will have basic accounts with limited recording, storage, and hosting capabilities.


Q: Will accounts that already have licensed access be licensed in the new Zoom site?

A: Yes.


Q: Will accounts that already have webinar access have that in the new Zoom site?

A: Yes.


Q: I had a Zoom account in the Zoom HIPAA site for my university. Will I need to access that after the move?

A: No! We will have special groups of users in the new site that will allow us to be on ONE site, even the HIPAA friendly accounts.


Q: Will we still have Zoom in D2L?

A: Faculty will still have access to Zoom in . It will have additional functionality such as grade sync for attendance.


Q: I had an account that I hadn't accessed for awhile and it may have been purged in March 2023. Will that prevent me from accessing the new Zoom if I need to?

A: No! Deleting the old account will just free up your account to be recreated in the new Zoom site. If you're a returning student, you should only need to access the new Zoom site to regain access to Zoom. HOWEVER- any recordings you had will no longer be available to you as recordings belong to the account.